top of page

This IT band injury is crushing my soul

So I seemed to have taken 20 steps back yesterday after a 5 mile run. Okay, I ran through the minor pain I had but it made me feel really uncomfortable and tense. I didn’t enjoy it one bit, I should have been buzzing. It’s made me so cross and it left me deflated and unhappy.

 

So, why am I still suffering from this injury & why did it happen in the first place. Looking back there was a lot of things I did poorly to prepare myself for my 13.2 / 26.2 journey. I hardly did any Hill runs and I didn’t do any core, no flexibility or strength sessions and I don’t go to gym. See the pattern here, almost everything I skipped was strength related. 14 weeks into my injury and my running as been OK and the pain has literally been non-existent. I’ve done 13.9 miles and one of the three runs I have done was completely pain free this week.

Diary of an Injured Runner WC 22/01/18

Monday – Successful 4.4 mile with the RR social gang, chatty and it felt good to be back… Got home, I did my IT Band exercises and I stuck a spiked ball on my hip and thought I’d rather have labour pains again! Day was successful and I was on a high.

Tuesday - I did no running today (Rudi’s orders) I did 50 squats and foam rolled with clam shells, quad stretches and lateral leg raises. Successful day and still feeling really positive

Wednesday – I walked 14,000 steps and did nothing this day, why? I was stood on my feet from 430am till 645pm at night. I was shattered and needed my bed. Missed my weekly core class too with Katie, it’s so much fun, yep, squats, lunges and planking can be fun… (have I sold it to you?) You should come too…… try it. I did go to bed at 8pm and can’t remember seeing the programme finish at 8:30am.. Oops!

Thursday – 3.5 mile run at 6am, I loved this run, it set me up for the day and a new recruit joined me who’s new to running and we had a chatty social run, slight niggle in knee but I could run through it. Got home buzzing and ready for the day., In the evening I did some squats then went onto my strengthening session with Clean coach Katie, she worked me goooooood and I felt great, bum doesn’t look like JLO’s though.

Friday – Bra off and PJs on!

Saturday – No running, just IT band exercises and foam rolled in the afternoon.

Sunday – I’m ready to go…. ‘it’s good to have you back Sally ‘ ‘How’s the injury’ I was the tensed I’ve ever been. Katie got her phone out to interview me briefly and I didn’t completely tell the truth, I was anxious and scared but it was about time on feet today so I just went with the vibe and we had matching New Balance fresh foam Zante’s on…. All I kept thinking about was, what if I hurt my knee half way through and I have to walk back? ‘Mentally smacking myself out of my hidden mood, I ran between 10-11 min miles and clocked 5.3 miles. The run was painful, niggle after niggle that turned into a dull pain, I just didn’t it enjoy it, I hated it and I felt awful!

 

Today, I was asked to name three things that went well in my training this week.

  1. I ran 13.9 miles in 3 runs

  2. I had a great PT session working on my quads and Glutes

  3. I finally got to go back to my running club after 14 weeks and see some friendly faces who’ve I’ve missed running with.

Photo from Sundays Club run!

 

So, what am I going to do with this negativity today. I’m going to roll it up and flick it, this week looks like...

Tuesday – 5k run

Wednesday – Core class

Thursday - 4 Mile 545am run then Off to see, Rudi Rudi Rudi Rudi to fix me- please fix me,

Sunday – Time on feet again- going to aim for 6 miles

Here goes!


bottom of page