top of page

What a February.....

Since I last updated you, I've been still continuing to exercise, foam roll, rub a spiked ball into my Glutes and ice, ice and more Ice.... it became a habit just to come home and do it... religiously.

I had to pay Rudi, Rudi, Rudi, Rudi a visit early into Feb as my TFL muscle was tense oh so tense that Rudi quoted ' I'm going to manipulate that hip' Well I didn't sleep for two days beforehand with nightmares that Rudi had turned into a bad ass.. Yes Rudi a Bad Ass!

Well I came out of the room, secretly singing hallelujah , as he yet again made me feel 10 x better in the matter of a 30 minutes and he also have me a resistance strip to add into my exercises.

I suddenly started to feel alot better with some Bruises from Rudis Manipulation... Whadda Guy!!

Check him out below

http://www.thetreatmentlab.co.uk/

Katie has been working my quads and glutes in my PT session I had early Feb and I’ve been attending core classes once a week. I love a Wednesday night core class, even the planks are becoming a friend of mine... The music, the atmosphere and the dance moves make is extra fun.. Its the best night of the week for me.. I really do recommend it..

So hows my running been?

So, I’ve gone from strength to Strength in February, I started off with the Sunday club rub after my visit to Rudi and I clocked 7 Miles that day. It was Okay but I still felt tense, maybe because it was still playing on my mind that my injury could come back at any point, as it’s not totally gone away yet, so my pace was slowish for me and I know I have to increase my pace time soon. With Rudy & Katie both on the Sunday club run, I felt like I had my wing guys with me, Rudi gave me some advice on this run that I’ve been using ever since- so I do recommend this method below, you get used to it and get keeps you up right when you’re feeling tired and your posture starts to suffer.

  1. Push your shoulders back

  2. Tuck your glutes in

  3. Arms by your side

Rudi has still been keeping me to 3 runs a week but to work on my pace and distance and I think I’ve been doing just that. I’ve managed to get my pace down to 9:00/ Mi for my 4 / 6 mile runs so this is a 1 Minute improvement. This still isn’t where I want to be but although this is a massive improvement on my runs two weeks ago. I've been going out at the crack of dawn to do some 3-5 milers and i hate to admit it, i really like the early pre breakfast runs..I feel more energized & contented for the day..

I've had some very positive runs but there was one that stood out for me..

Eastbourne 10k....... 18th February 2018

Look at my comfortable running face…. Thank you to Clare for running with me. I know this was also a test of her capabilities too, so well done to Clare for also smashing it out there.. Cant beat a run on the seafront..We're actually running Eastbourne Half Marathon together on the 4th March and i couldn't think of a more adorable lady to run with.

This has to be my favourite run so far this year. I looked happy, I felt happy and crossing that finish line and looking at my watch, I knew I smashed by PB.. so I had a few little happy tears.. 54:48! One minute off my last 10K which was August 2017.

So here I am, My three weeks of pain free running ended up on a high…

As my coach would say, I started the week on negative Nelly and ended the week on Positive Patricia..

My February Highlights

I had hoped to finish my blog with Today's Run and tell you how happy it felt to Run 10 miles -.. But i'd be lying..

I was tense before i started so that didn't help, I managed 3.5 miles with the early gang and enjoyed that, social, chatty and i soon loosened up. It got to 9am and there was 141 runners today, i'm not good with loads of people so this was a struggle, the paths were narrow and the loop backs were a killer but I remained relaxed and in control.. Well, Until i looped back up Campbell Park hill - WHY, I don't know as my IT band clearly don't like them..I then got to the bottom and felt it, that horrible dull pain in the side of my knee... Shit, Bollocks!!! i was at 7.8 miles at this point, so i slowed down, It didn't ease but slowing down my pace did help and then i saw a loop back coming up.. I stopped, I stretched out my Hip Muscle for 3 minutes, it helped a little bit, I carried on running and then took the opportunity to stop and stretch again on another loop.. I knew i was coming to the end of my 1hr 40 min run today..... Rudi kept popping next to me and asking me if was okay, I knew i wasn't and i told him I was him pain. I wanted to cry then as im an emotional wreck but i held it in... So, I finished......I JUST RAN 10 BLOODY MILES...

I saw i ran 10.23 Mile on my watch but i didn't upload it straight away, normally im on this shit as im bursting with satisfaction, but not today... I text Ray and said well i did 10 Miles but i'm in pain... I cried most of the way home then cheered up to walk through the door.. I told Ray i didn't want to talk about the run as i was getting the ice pack out the freezer.. I turned around and burst into tears, I felt like all my hard work and persistence had gone out the window.. I had a good cry on his shoulder, it helped..Spoke to a few people, had messages from Katie who quickly saw my Facebook status and messaged me and cheered me up.. I have some great running friends who can relate to how hard this is for me... I've wrestled with this IT band injury for far too long now.. Ill leave this here but will remind myself of three positives things that's happened this last two weeks...

1- I've ran 10 miles solid

2- I got a 10K PB

3- I got a place in the Eastbourne Half Marathon - Eeeeek!

Today's Club Run Pictures...

I still have a long way to go to reach my marathon, But I am already so far from where i used to be and I'm proud of that...


bottom of page