top of page

Running my 1st Marathon with Katie, Clean Coach Katie & Rudi, The Treatment Lab.

My 1st Marathon!

I remember the day so well, I was waiting to start a game of bingo with my mum. We had booked up a mini break to Blackpool and the email went into my Junk Folder. I didn't know what to say or do at first but all I remember was grinning from ear to ear and with shear excitement it made me leap from my chair.. I had to confirm my acceptance which I did with hesitation in return I was going to get the following

* Monthly treatment with the Treatment Lab with further sessions leading up to the marathon

* A bespoke training plan tailored to my lifestyle and targets

* Access to weekly core classes with CCK

* Ongoing support from both Rudi & Katie

All I had to do was write a blog on a monthly basis..

Little did I know the support I had was 10 times more than what I was being offered above..

We set up a whatsapp group #teamsquashie where myself and Ben the other sponsored athlete. We could discuss any topic / food / advice and general day to day queries we had.. This was fantastic, I dont think we went a day without posting texting something to each other.

Due to my injury, I didn't start too well, I often thought like i was wasting Rudi's and Katie's time. I loved running so so much that it kept me going, I hate letting anyone down. I did continue throughout my IT Band injury and Rudi soon got me working that HIP of mine to rebuild the strength. It took so long at one stage i really thought I should be quitting, I was told to quit but i didn't..

Core

Running a marathon isn't just about running, you need a strong core to keep you upright, so attending weekly core classes with Katie helped me... I went every Wednesday religiously, Planking, squats, dancing, moaning and groaning but I generally started to feel fitter. My glutes held out on long runs and I saw a change in my fatigue appearance. I easily could keep my shoulders back whilst running and as its quite natural to droop down with the mileage but towards the end I didn't... So, Yes, core is important and I really recommend it.

PT Sessions - Strength and Conditioning

Katie gave me monthly PT sessions in the studio, at the beginning with focused on my injury and did exercises to regain strength in my HIP. We worked with, Kettle Bells, Weight bags etc, the famous squats... Oh I love Squats! This was all aimed to improve my performance and prevent any further injury.. I enjoyed the sessions, Me and Katie would talk and work at the same time. She knew exactly what my strengths were and weaknesses and we worked together on using my capabilities to the maximum in the hour we had together. Katie always made me feel welcome in the studio. Always waiting for me on the entrance and immediately asking how I was.. Made me feel at ease and comfortable. We'd always warm up first and cool down last thing and I left feeling energized and stronger.

Treatment

Rudi, Rudi, Rudi.. the man who internally bruised my glutes but made me a stronger runner. I couldn't of got by without his guidance & support in getting my Injury free. I listened to every bit of advice Rudi could of given me. I exercised religiously every day, he was on hand to answers any concerns I had. Hes a legend! Thanks Rudi you are a legend....

Daily Contact - #teamsquashie

I loved our Whatsapp group, I relied on it quite a lot actually. Myself and Ben would use this to update our coaches on our progress, any niggles, pains or Food related queries it was chatted about here or Ben would post his love Squashies... Rudi would be keeping track of my progress on my Injury and Katie would offer running advise if i wasn't sure... Not a day went by that we didnt speak with each other.

Accountability

I've left the best till last, I've said this plenty of times before, but by being accountable for your runs, you felt in-control. With Katie and Rudis support I never felt alone, and as individuals I cannot recommend them enough for the kindness they provided me. They both understood my pain I was in when i was injured and they both were always there for support and direction, These guys invested their time into me, helped me build my mileage gradually and controllable for me. They offered me running trainer advise and what to eat before long runs, the communication was endless. The entire package was a lot more than my expectations . In reality Katie and Rudi were my watchdogs so of course I felt Accountable to my plan. I had bads days and I mean bad days, I wanted to give up no end of times and I still smack myself sometimes that I actually ran that marathon that day.

Marathon Day

Jeeeeeeeeeeeeez I was so nervous and I think my hubby, kids and parents could see how nervous I was. I didnt see Rudi or Katie before the run which I was a little gutted about but I had Sadie with me so I felt at ease. I saw Katie at Mile 3 and She ran over to me and gave me a massive hug- Thats it I felt better straight away, Nerves had subsided and I just enjoyed running with Sadie, We laughed, got hosed down by fireman, it was an extremely hot day that day so we keep cool. My husband and eldest son followed me around the route which helped too.. I honestly could not of got through my long runs without Sadie by my side and I got emotional that she devoted time to me, Poor woman listened to my moans and was on lookout for me as my bladder would often say you must wee now.... I left Sadie at Mile 17 and only saw Ray once more after this, so I was like a lost little lamb out there in all honest and felt emotional but then Katie and Rudi appeared out of nowhere about Mile 22 my spirits soon lifted, quick hug from Rudi and Katie checking im all okay and off we continued and they ran all the way to the stadium with me.... Now how's that for backing me, coaching me to the very last bit.... Love them guys and altogether they are incredible people.

Thank you Katie & Rudi....

Would I recommend this sponsorship to anyone... HELL YES!

You are what you do, Not what you say you'll do... This is the beginning of something big.

Thought i would finish off buy showing you all my Marathon Video... From Start to Finish.. Enjoy..


bottom of page