top of page

GRIT- The raw endurance and passion that keeps me going despite obstacles along the way.

March 2018- Two Months to go...

I received my training plan from Katie which will see me up to the end of the marathon and i was so excited to look at it and study it... Oooohhhhh, tempo's, ooooooooooooh Intervals.... and then i spotted them, the last on the sheet. 14 Miles then 16 miles oh there they are 18 and 20 miles... Yikes. Maybe a slight heart palpitation came on at this point. Oh Sally stop being such an idiot, you got this girl!

March 23rd

I went out for a pre breakfast / pre work 5k run with Matt who i work with, pace was steady, Don't really like running through the centre MK as i cant map a route out properly but i got the job done and chatted most of the way round.

March 25th - 14 mile day

I'm not going to lie, i was really nervous about this run however knowing I was running with Sadie from the peachy bum crew. She automatically cheers me up, shes just a devoting lady.. Shes a credit to herself. she got me to 14 miles and yes I know i did it myself but I generally rely on motivation and someone to say ' come on sally, you got this' Shes that woman!

March 26 - Recovery run

ouch this one hurt, but it was purely down to the 14 miler i did yesterday, pace was okay-ish but I got 5 miles in so i was happy with that. Went home to ice and stretch and seemed a lot better once i completed those

March 29th - Tempo day

My first one since injury. I've wanted to work on my 5k pace for a long time, so seeing this on my plan was great! I planned to run before work ( fresh legs ). Oh, I loved it. I felt great, 25.18 minutes i came in at.. 3.1 Miles. Yes, Sally! I don't know where that burst of energy came from but i ran and oh i ran good! No pain either so i was beaming. Hot and sweaty but beaming! Nobody wants this more than me, so i've got to work hard and working hard I'm doing.

March 30th - Its Rudi Rudi Rudi Day... whoop!

I ran to the treatment lab today, it was exactly 4 miles from my house to Rudi's house of pain. So i took a gentle easy run through Stony Stratford into Wolverton Mill. I loved it, My pace was good, maybe a little fast for a easy run ( Katie did tell me off for this - oops ) but I felt comfortable and in control.. 4 Miles done in 37 minutes.. and a nice little massage for me at the end... I hurt my left tendons in my foot so Rudi did some work on that- made a change from spending all his time on my knee / Hip... Another good day!

April Fools day- My coach fooled me to a 16 mile run

I was looking forward to this run actually, I had planned out my route in my head and knew i had some mileage to do on my own, so i did an early lap of the lake on my own - Opps too fast... Then I joined the early lap gang and ran with Sadie, - Opps still too fast, but comfortable.. Decided to bail on the early gang and went back to the car to regain some strength and have a wee wee... 12 miles to go.... 7 miles in my knee started playing up... Oh please... seriously! I stopped and stretched at every loop back, without them stretches I wouldn't of been able to carry on. I got to mile 14.5 and the club run hadnt finished.. I should of stopped there but 16 was on my plan and 16 i did. Katie my coach did tell me off but I'm very stubborn and unfortunately sometimes do as i please even though I knew i was in the wrong.. ( stubborn cow ) My knee was throbbing by the time i got home... Had a bath, washed my sweaty hair and napped for two hours... Cant beat a after-run snooze.. I woke up feeling fresh and celebrated my achievement by going out for dinner..

April 2nd- Recovery Run 5K

I was actually a little scared to put my trainers on today after my 16 mile run yesterday especially as i had a mammoth blister on my toe... But surprisingly i felt comfortable and the pain in my knee was dull, managed a 8:42 min mile pace. Don't know where it came from as yesterday i didn't think i'd be out running the day after.

April 5th - the worst time ive ever had running! EVER..

Coach has started to put some intervals / tempos on my plan now as i asked for them and i was really eager to push myself today.. Blood sweat and tears and all that. I planned to go into work early and run the redways - 1.5 miles and 1.5 miles back... I just got to the end of my first set of 0.50 mile and some guy shouted out his van window ' You shouldn't be running, your arse looks disgusting' That was it.... It ruined the whole run for me... I felt awful, fat, wobbly and it basically Fooked my entire interval session.. It also knocked my self confidence in myself. Ive always been curvy which is fine, that dont bother me but its the weighing thing, I felt really heavy that day anyway so for some TWAT to come along and shout something like that at woman - well, i hope he dont have a daughter that gets spoken too like that.. I think i cried about 3 times that day... I'm over it now as i only care about what my husband thinks of me so i hope karma kicks him right up the arse one day! So not a great interval session..... Oh well, Upwards and all that.

April 6th

A run I like to call a comfortable run.. I decided to go outside the village and try the single track roads.. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon actually. I did 4 miles and finished the run on a high, after yesterdays run it was good to get out and just enjoy what i love doing the most. RUN!

April 8th - Long run day

18 Miles done and dusted but it didn't come without tears I'm Afraid.. I had planned to run from my home to Stony Stratford but the run location has changed to i had to re-think my route as i wouldn't get 18 miles in with the club. I Met up with Caz & Jenny and we did a 2.5 mile run before the main club began at 9am... I felt good until mile 8 - that old sodding knee pain again. I was in a constant battle with myself on the whole run. I actually hated it..... I finished the club run with 16 miles behind me but I had 18 to do and I wasn't going to let it defeat me. I had a stretch out and two chaps from Redway Runners ran with me and saw me through to the end... God that was the longest 2 miles of my life. I actually drove home in tears- I thought that was it. There was no way I could run 26.2 if I'm struggling to do 18, Yes, I did it but you try running in constant pain- It didnt stop me running, but it just hurt...

It was a very bad run and I seriously began to doubt this marathon. I felt angry, Why is this still causing my pain like this...

I had to snap out of this mindset that I CANT do this, as i CAN DO THIS and I WILL..

April 10th- Testing the knee capabilities

I came into work limping yesterday which opened up colleagues at work to ask me ' why are you doing this to yourself ' It stuck in my head and To be quite frank i am getting naffed of with it too, so these guys are seeing me come in and can see im in pain with my knee, Its going to cause debate but I know my capabilities and I know I'm coming back from this..

I tried a gentle 1 mile walk at lunch time today and its getting better - yeah!! I can bend it it now without causing my great pain.. PT Session tonight with Katie so I was looking forward to that.

April 11th - Run Day

I've had two days rest from running now and i was eager to get out. I had a great PT strength session with Katie and the knee felt good so I went out for my 530am run and did two laps of my village, Took it easy, knee pain was there in the distance but i chose to ignore it and just ran... Came out in a better mood and ready for the day. Postive Polly is back.

April 13th - The run where I didn't do as I was told

So my coach who i listen too ALL the time ( OK im lying but she knows me well enough now ) I was told to do 1 mile easy - 3 miles tempo and then 1 mile easy.. Errrrrmmmmmm....

1 mile - 08:51pace

2 mile - 08:59 pace

3 mile - 08:41 pace

4 mile - 07:45 pace

5 mile - 09:08 pace

The breakdown of this run was, 1 - I hate ducks and im sure they were out to kill me, 2, I dont like muddy water logged paths / grass verges and 3 I ate 10,000 flies... These were all excuses to why I didn't listen my coach but I enjoyed the run and the main thing for me was I had no pain in my knee at all. Speedwork is fun and im keen to get fitter and do more..

Here it is the one ive been dying to reach for a very long time....

April 15th - 20 MILES

I made sure I had at last 8 hours sleep last night. Which i did, I woke up at 6:30am had 3 weetabix and a strong cup of coffee. Showered, Hair was annoying me today I just couldn't get it up in a bun so i let it loose into a ponytail. I had 30 minutes left before I had to leave - I was running from home today and meeting up with Redway Runners for the 09:00am club run start... I set my watch to 10:00 min mile pacing and stretched out and did my yoga pose that Darren from Posture Fit gave me to do... I felt ready for this.... Come on Sally, its now or never...

I left my house at 08:00am and headed into Stony Stratford, around the River ouse, took me 40 minutes to get there and with 4 miles already under my belt I felt good and ready for the rest of the day. I didn't have Katie, Rudi or Sadie on the run today, Sadie smashed it at Manchester Marathon and bagged a GFA spot in London next year so I let her off today. Shes my go to lady who keeps me going on these run, it has nothing to do with her stash of Jelly beans at all.... ( cough cough ). I had Daria who also ran from home and had 20 miles to do today so we kind of looked after each other for the 2 hour run.. My usual knew niggle kicked in at mile 7 and stayed there until mile 14, I did one more mile with the club and the niggle in my knee went, bearing this in mind i only had to stop twice on the route to stretch out so this is a massive improvement to where I have been previously. I think had a gel- rang my hubby and said I've finished with the club now, I just have the journey home to do now... So, off i Jollied, went back in to Stony and did a few loops of the river Ouse to make up the miles as i knew it was only 4 back into Deanshanger, With no knee pain or sign of fatigue at all, I seem to have upped my pace a little and just went by feel. I got back into Deanshanger at 19.2 Miles so I thought I'm finishing this today on 20 if it kills me.... aaaaaaand i Fell through my front door at 20.1miles.... I can honestly say. YES I'M READY! Come on MK marathon.. Bring it on... I was buzzing/ bursting with pride that i pulled this off. After my 18 mile disaster last weekend I didn't think today was possible. So whoop! Lets be having you... I was so happy i didn't Nap this day either - ha!

April 17th - Recovery Run

A gentle 5 mile - GENTLE?? I went by feel and managed to keep a steady 08:40 avg pace... I took to the back roads and countryside and listened to Five Greatest hits all the way round. Another pain free run under my belt. Felt good, confidence was back and i felt strong.

April 19th - 12 x 0.25 splits with 1 Minute recovery- Love some speed work....

Wasn't looking forward to running in the 22 degree heat at 7:30am but I was prepared, hydrated well. Shoooot, I've already started my 1st split and I forgot to un-pause my watch.. Oh well. God it was hot out there today. I knew i pushed it, I ran like forest, I felt so strong out there today

I finished the 12 Splits and sat down for a while, Uploaded to Strava and saw it... 5k in 30 Minutes... There was no way that was a 30 minute run.. I text Katie straight away, I knew what it was, I had to give moving on my rest breaks as my watch auto pauses so it clocked the time... Bugger it! Katie did what Katie does Best, she sent me my Garmin splits... OH MY DAYS...what the hell, sod my Strava Strop... I Felt like a champion.. 06:46 pace??? WOW... I Ran and i Ran fast!

April 20th Easy 5k

I went out at 6am for this run, felt good surprisingly after yesterdays interval workout but I felt good and ready for the day.. can't beat a pre brekkie run to start of the day..

April 22nd - 14 miles on the plan

Yay, I have Sadie back... I supplied the Jelly beans today, I'll let her off just this once... . I did 2 miles prior to the club run starting as i knew i had to adapt to the hot weather today and then that would only leave me 12 to do with the club...It was a solid 14 mile run. No knee pain at all, not even a niggle. I just can't put my finger on why the last week my mindset has just changed.. I always been focused but i generally felt like a new runner this last week or so. My confidence is shining through and I'm a happy runner...

Look at the sunshine we had on Today's Run.... hot and brutal at times but i kept hydrated and fueled well.

London Marathon Stalking began straight after, my Coach Katie being my main focus... I knew how hot it was out there today and i had my fingers crossed for her... She 'bossed it' She may of adapted her time slightly due to the weather but she still PB'd a time that in my dreams i imagine doing...

Well done Katie- Super proud of you...

 

Wow... Sorry guys that you've had to read all this. I found it more easier to do my diary running blog after each run... It was fresh thoughts on the day and Ill leave you with a picture that I never thought I would get too.. I've had the toughest time, fell through so many holes and I've managed to get out of them all the time.... My Grit - Determination and Confidence will get me through this 26.2 Miles on the 7th May...

MK MARATHON- I'm coming for you..

See you in two weeks..


bottom of page